About the Des Moines Community Jazz Center Hall of Fame

Des Moines may not be the JAZZ "capital of the world", but that hasn't stopped the Greater Des Moines Community Jazz Center (CJC) from recognizing the musical contribuitions of the city's finest and most influential musicians.

Started in 2001, the Des Moines Jazz Hall of Fame was established to hoor those musicians who have been proud to call Des Moines (or Central Iowa) home. Musicians selected for the Des moines Jazz Hall of Fame have not only influenced future generations of musicians, but have provided the city's jazz fans with years of musical adventure and enjoyment.

Beginning in October of 2001, Des Moines' jazz fans have gathered at Adventureland Inn in Altoona (just east of Des Moines) to celebrate the contributions of many talented and dedicated individuals.  The event location relocated to Noce in downtown Des Moines in 2017.    In addition, the CJC presents Special Recognition awards to musicians, jazz educators, promoters or others that have contributed to the JAZZ tradition in Central Iowa.   Another Award known as "The Bobby Dawson Award" is also presented to a student musician involved in CJC jam sessions and activities.  For information on upcoming Hall of Fame events, contact CJC Director, Abe Goldstien at abegold1951@gmail.com.

Hall of Fame

Wayne Lage -2003 Inductee

If you’ve ever heard a central Iowa big band, you’ve probably heard Wayne “Doc” Lage! For more than 50 years, Wayne’s feel and sound has either led or rounded out the saxophone section. A native of Hubbard, IA, Wayne’s career as a musician flourished during his Navy years working with the Ray Anthony and Tex Beneke service bands. While attending the University of Iowa, Wayne began playing with the likes of the Hoy, Killinger and Zarnow bands. In 1957, Wayne moved to Des Moines to establish a dental practive and continue his playing with area bands. The list began to grow – the William Tell Orchestra (now Big Band Sound), the Variety Club Orchestra, and the Des Moines Big Band, which he joined as a member in 1966.